Projection of HD Images

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I am new to HD – camera is on its way. A client does seminars using Powerpoint. He says he wants HD filming of a geologic expedition in Patagonia. My question is, if I film in HD, how can I make a HD image available for him to use in his presentations? I know that it won’t be through Power Point since that uses a low res format (wmv). I suspect that it is necessary to burn a Blu-Ray disk and have him play it into the projector through a Blu-Ray player. Then I began to wonder if only some projectors support HD. Anybody have experience with this? What resolution is needed in the projector? Does the projector have to have an HDMI input or will S-Video, composite or regular outputs from a Blu-Ray player work on basically any projector, and still give HD results? Or, will the HD quality be lost by projecting it? If so, maybe Blu-Ray for his seminar use is unneccesary? Maybe SD quality would be better! Also,how do projectors handle a widescreen format?I’d sure like to answer these questions BEFORE I go shooting the video! Any suggestions or knowledgeable information would be much appreciated!!! Thanks.

A Google search for high definition widescreen projectors will get you a lot of information regarding what’s out there in HD widescreen projection – obviously will not be as cheap as SD projectors, native widescreen or not.

Regarding shooting, editing, burning to DVD or BluRay DVD & playing/projecting BluRay it remains a mixed bag so far as what’s available to us non-coms, ease of editing/production. One software solution is available through Toast 9 and a commerical addon through Roxio. I understand there are some PC software options as well, including Roxio’s multi-platform Toast series.