Project stolen..

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Ok so this is what happened:

last night some burglars decided to make a visit to my house. Fortunately we came back home when the guys were still inside the house so they really had to rush getting out.

But, they stole my powerbook… :'( And what bothers me most is that I was finishing a video-project that I had been working on for the last 3 months.

So now I’m looking for ways to get my project back. I’ll get the money back from the insurance so a new powerbook is coming. Tho, I was using a powerbook, and an external HD for that project (they didn’t steal that), and my external HD was the scratch disk (fortunately). So I still have the captured raw material on there.

For some kind of reason tho, FCP wasn’t able to open my project if it was on the external HD, so I saved the project constantly on the powerbook itself. I only backupped the project file when the project was finished for about 15%…

But now I noticed that FCP also autosaves. So now my question is:
      Will I be able to get my almost finished project back? I a file of the project (tho a very old one), but FCP has been autosaving my project…

So when I get my new powerbook, install FCP, plug-in my external HD, will I be able to get my project back or will I have to start all over again?

Thnx a lot in advance for your answers and I hope this’ll never happen to you.. From now on I’ll always back up my files more often, you never now what can happen…

Participant