Professional Editing Books?

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hello, I’m a noob at editing, have some experience being taught by professionals (on Avid) but I want to know if there are some professional books that will teach me how to professionalyl edit and\or something that does not just scratch the surface on the topic.

one thing that confuses me is that I was taught to transition between clips but on shows on HBO I don’t see transition, just clean shots.

Participant

If you use Sony Vegas – Douglas Spotted Eagle has a great book out there.

For editing in general, there’s always Murch’s "In The Blink Of An Eye".

Inactive

I think I understand what you’re talking about and I believe this is more of a question about talent and experience rather than knowledge and skills gained from books, which is why its so hard to find literature on the subject in question. Reading a book about editing doesn’t make you a professional editor no more than reading a book about brushes and pigments makes you a professional painter.