Production Monitor

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Forgive me if this has already been asked but I have searched for it until my eyes are bleeding – well, not quite that much!

I recently attended the West Coast Videomaker Expo (which was great – my first one) and in one of the seminars it was recommended to use a NTSC monitor while shooting to make sure your camera is adjusted correctly for TV viewing – since the LCD screen is not nec. accurate.

ANY SUGGESTIONS? I found some in the B&H catalog made by Sony and JVC but, since I am new to more than just point and shoot, I don’t have a clue what to get. How many lines of resolution? What adjustments should it have? Would a TV work instead? Do most people even use one?

I will be doing training videos using a Canon XL2 in an indoor (homemade) studio. The final product will be DVD.

Also – is there such a thing as an EAST Coast Videomaker Expo? I am from WV.

Inactive

I can’t give you specifics on which monitor to use/get but a tv will only work if the actual color is NOT as important. Every TV in America will reproduce color different. Even same models. Its the old running joke about the American tv standard "NTSC". Never the same color. If accurate color is important a monitor is needed.

I typically white balance in the camera and thats it, so color accuracy is not as big an issue with me. Sorry I can’t point you in the right direction as far as which monitor to get, but now you know whether or not a tv will work for you.

Participant

Hi Butch,

First of all, you have to decide if you need a monitor at all.
      Monitors are being used in some cases during shooting to producer or director see what cameraman is actually shooting. It may help to justify the cost of production if you have your customer on the spot. So the customer may see that the money is not waisted, since the picture is provided instantly, and the customer may get involved into creative process.