Premiere Pro After Effects workflow

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I’ve used Premiere for years and have now graduated up to Adobe Production CS4 Suite. I’m not a novice but maybe not up to being called “intermediate.”

Here’s my problem: I’m having a hard time understanding the flow and interaction between Premiere and After Effects. I’ve googled it and found everything from, “I edit in Premiere and just do titles in AE” to “I edit completely in AE.”

I’ve edited a short video together and then right clicked the clips and selected “Replace with AE Composition” to add some green screen keying and that sort of works, but then it seems to lose information or not save properly… and I’m now officially confused.

In general, I’m wondering what process do you out there that use both apps use? Do you edit completely in Premiere, use the Replace with AE Composition? Or do you set up the clips first in AE, then dynamically link them into Premiere assets to be added to a sequence?

Thanks! – Laurie

Participant

Ya just dop the effects in after effects, Heavier compisiting, animated masking, rotoscoping, 2D animation, multiplayering… AE is not an editing application. It’s an effects tool to compliment your NLE. I’m in Avid land so I’m use to using AE as my DVE as Avid’s DVE is still from 1994.

Participant

I dont use CS4 but I think you can just right click on the phootage you want the effects on and chose edit in after effects. whne you are done just save it and it will automayicaly change in Premiere. this what I heard from one moderator here.

I use cs3 so what I do is to take the phootage to after effects and whatever i want with graphics and…. save it then I open premiere pro and import AE composition.
      that what I am certain of.

God bless you

Lauriera,