Please explain to me music copyright in Wedding Videos

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Specialty Topics Wedding and Event Video Please explain to me music copyright in Wedding Videos

Viewing 15 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hello,

I have been a Wedding Photographer for 5 years and have decided to venture into video and give it a try. I have done a lot of research and many videographers use hit songs and so on on the portfolio montages on their websites and on the videos they give to the clients.

Can somebody explain to me the copyright issues. As in can I get in trouble if I use current hit songs for example. Do you know of somebody who has actually gotten into trouble? I can’t imagine that it is legal since I will be making money off the product. Is there a loophole or something?

Also how about (for example) when you videotape people dancing to Party Rock and the song is clearly heard in the background…

Sorry if those questions are kinda broad but I thought this is the right place to ask.

Thanks for any info you can give me.

P.S. oops i posted in the wrong section but have no idea how to delete the post…

Todd,

I moved your thread into the proper spot. No worries. Okay, long story short; whether in a wedding vid or whatever, to use music of any type you do not personally own the rights to (i.e. hold copyright), it has to be royalty-free or you must have permission from the rights holder (who owns the copyright) in order to use it.