Player Compatability

• This topic has 18 replies, 1 voice, and was last updated 14 years ago by AvatarAnonymous.
Viewing 18 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hi guys,

i am new to all this and have just burnt some test footage onto disc from Encore, the original footage editied in Premier.

Now, i play DVD’s on my PS2 or PC, both of which will play the DVD i created inEncore, but when i leant it to my mate he said he just gets a folder displayed on the screen which he has to click to start the DVD playing.

I am sorry, i dont know what player he is using, i can tell you that i am using DVD -R discs made by Maxel and burnt using Enocre at the fastest speed it allows (4x). My writers are 16x DVD -/+R DL, amde by LITE-ON.

PLease can someone help me with this problem, i cant seem to find any settings in Ecnore which allow to adjust how it encodes to make it more or less compatible. It does say when burning that it is encoding for Set top players, Pc Software players etc.

Thanks in advance,

Jay

Inactive

It sounds to me like its a configuration issue with the computer. Especially with XP. The drive in the computer can be set to auto-play, browse, or do nothing. In this case, a window opens which asks which function to perform. A playstation won’t have this feature. There’s nothing wrong with the DVD itself.

Inactive

Ey up mate,

cheers for the reply, but unfortunately you totally lost me.

The DVd’s i create play fine in both my PC and Playstation, but WONT play in my mates DVD player.

I have now tried the disc in 7 different players, of which only 3 played it fine and one other played with problems.

So whats going off?

Cheers,

Jay

Inactive

I got the impression that it was played on computer DVD players. I’ve never heard of a DVD disc not playing right away in a stand alone player. Was the "first play" set properly in Encore? Was the disc burned in Encore or another DVD burning app?

Inactive