Pinnacle Studio 500 and software Pinnacle Studio version 10?

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Video and Film Discussion Pinnacle Studio 500 and software Pinnacle Studio version 10?

• This topic has 4 replies, 1 voice, and was last updated 15 years ago by AvatarAnonymous.
Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hi I am relatively new to using video capture and create units and software.
      First, I have a Toshiba notebook, satellite 2410, intel pent 4, mobile processor, 512 RAM, 40 gig HD which I use for my personal use at home.

I have an identical one which the better half uses and has the Hauppauge WinTv PVr USB 2 installed on and uses.
      It was bought last September and we did about 20 vhs tapes to DVD and the quality was excellent.

Our VCR is a high end Sony SLV-R5UC which we used in editing with our old Sony Hi 8 camera.
      This is what we use to capture our video with.

I have purchased the Pinnacle Studio 500 with the Pinnacle Studio 10, just took it out of the box and am reading the Brochure of quick instructions.
      It comes with 3 CD’s in total.

I bought this for my Toshiba as the better half uses the Hauppauge and it is the one that we did all of our other vhs conversions to dvd as mentioned earlier, however we don’t need all the bells and whistles of the tv tuner etc.
      We simply want a unit that hooks up to the vcr via Composite cables and to the USB on the Toshiba notebook and don’t intend to watch TV nor record TV programs.

Thus I looked at this Pinnacle, however in reading what is in this quick install brochure it does not sound user friendly. I have to drag n drop the movie??? etc.

I went through a brief Tutorial and found it looked like the thrust of this program with the unit is to edit with music and cut and trim and we are not interested in any of that. And then drag n drop the video we want to capture???