pinnacle good or bad?

Viewing 25 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

im new to video prod,i like pinnacle but when i talk to people they say its not a good program,why?

Inactive

I’ve used Pinnacle for many years. I think I finally gave up on version 8 or something. The program has wonderful features. I particullarly like the music match feature that will perfectly fits royalty free music to any size clip. The program is very user friendly – HOWEVER – and this is a big however, the program is not stable and will frequently encounter corrupted files, crash without warning, drop frames, etc. I was running the fastest and meanest computer I could get my hands on. It seemed I was buying my computer around this program. When I finally gave up I had spend over $4K on a custom built monster and the program acted exactly the same. At that point I switched to Sony Vegas. Now Vegas is not a professional program, but it is very stable and does a great job – even in professional applications. There is a bit of a learning curve, at least for me – but I’m just a bit retarded sometimes. The curve is well worth the climb and it will serve you well. There are, of course, many other great programs in the $100 – $200 range such as adobe essentials, final cut express if you are a mac guy, and many others – I’m drawing a blank now…

I would stay away from Pinnacle (unless it has gotten much better)

Good luck.

Inactive

Same story here. Loved the features that Pinnacle had to offer. Spent many man hours trying to get thru a complete render. Spent good money on up grades that never came thru with being able to work properly. After years of trying I believe I gave up around version 9. I too went to sony vegas and have been very happy with it. I also have now started playing with an IMAC and I am extremely happy with it. (I have been playing with Final Cut Express) I agree with the above the other post. Unless better stay away!

Participant