Picking a Editor – Adobe or not?

Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi there

I am having some serious difficulty deciding which editing software to get. I recently bought a Panasonic HDC-HS300 camcorder. Although I am new to the video-making world, I am a fast learner and as such would like to purchase a rather powerful editor from the outset instead of upgrading later…

I was initially thinking of getting Adobe Premier CS4, but now I am confused as to whether it will run on my computer! Perhaps it would just be excruciatingly slow…

I would appreciate any advice as to which editing software to get, given my computer specifications (I cannot (currently) afford to buy a new computer):

Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.66GHz
      Memory: 6GB 800MHz RAM
      Graphics: NVIDIA 8800GT 512MB
      HDD: More than enough space, with a 7200RPM 1TB HDD dedicated to video editing

Thank you ever so much!

Participant

A good place to start is with the November Issue of Videomaker Magazine with the article “Editing Softwarre Buyer’s Guide” I beleive you can access that article on the main page of this website.

One computer suggestion, you have plenty of disk space but it is preferable to have the video you are editing on a second drive and not the main drive for running the editing software.

Participant

I would recommend starting with Premiere Elements, version 7 preferably.
      Second choice would be Vegas Movie Studio, you can always go to Vegas Pro later.

If you find a need to go to the pro versions you will only have spent about $70 and gotten a lot of experience that will make the move a lot easier.

Download the trials and see what works for you πŸ˜‰

Participant

“have the video you are editing on a second drive and not the main drive” – thanks, I’ll remember that…