Panasonic GH2

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I have decided to purchase the Panasonic GH2. I’m new to the DSLR market, so just wondering, apart from the camera, what else should I purchase along with it?

Is the3X Lens Kit (14-42mm F3.5-5.6 ASPH. / MEGA O.I.S.) sufficient?

Is it better to order directly from Panasonic.com or from somewhere like B&HPhoto.com?

Is Final Cut X sufficient for dealing with the raw video files?

Anything else?

VM -the camera with the 14-42 lens is $1000 at Panasonic Direct, and $899 at Adorama,Amazon, or B&H.

All are great places to order the camera, but you can save a few dollars at Unique Photo, where the camera is $889.

I have ordered from all of these retailers (except Panasonic Direct), and have had good experiences with all of them.

That said, I recommend you spend a few $ more, and get the GH2 with the 14-140 lens. $1200 new at Amazon or $1049 used at Adorama. The 14-140mm was my first lens with the GH2. It is sharp throughout its range, the 10x zoom is very useful and the silent autofocus is great for video. It is a terrific piece of glass.

The next thing you will want is an external mic. The in-camera mic is fine, but getting the mic away from the camera and closer to your subject makes a lot of difference in sound quality. There is a good Videomaker article on mic choices here. I use a ~$20wired lavalier for close ups and a ~$150wireless VHF lavalier for longer shots. Other people prefer an external mic mounted on top of the camera, such as the ~$150 Rode Video Mic. Note: the GH2 has a non-standard 2.5mm mic input, so you will need a ~$6 adapter, like this one, to plug a 3.5mm mic jack into it.

After that, if you want to steady your shots, you will need some sort of ~$300shoulder rigand/or ~$200fluid head tripod.

And yes, you should be able to edit your video straight out of the camera with FCP X.