Panasonic DVX100A or wait for the new Sony HVR-Z1U

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Ive given serious consideration to the field of Videography (I have some photography experience) and have decided to develop my skills in the areas of educational DVDs and documentaries. I anticipate that some of my work could end up on television. I do not have any desire at this point to make movies.

After much research I originally decided to purchase the Panasonic DVX100A, it can be purchased for around $2,000 via the web. However, after reading the recent news releases about the Sony HVR-Z1U I am wondering if it might not be worth the extra money (about $3,000 extra) to purchase this camera when it becomes available. High definition seems to be the wave of the future and I am concerned about buying a camera (the Panasonic) that might not be suitable for meeting broadcast requirements.

I would very much appreciate comments and suggestions from experts, people who have been in the business for quite some time. Should I go with the Panasonic or spring for the Sony when it becomes available. Time is not a factor.

As background, I will also be updating my computer equipment. Although I currently own Adobe Premier 6.5 and After Effects 5.5 I have not opened them (they were gifts dont ask.) In order to use Premier I have to purchase a special graphics card whereas if I were to get the Sony camera Id probably opt for the Vegas 5 NLE package because of its tighter integration with the camera.

Thanks very much for your assistance.

Dan K

Participant

Hi,