One camera wedding shoot

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      TechnoFX
      Participant

Hey there, I’m a somewhat experienced freelance videographer, and I’m going to be shooting my first wedding at the end of october. My friend got me the job, and it’s my first wedding. I’m just shooting it, and he’ll edit it, but I will be the only guy with a video camera (there will be 2 still photographers). From what I’ve seen, most people have 2 camera people.

So basically, I’m trying to think about coverage. I know during the ceremony, I’ll be focusing on the happy couple, but are there any good ways to cover the altar AND the audience? I’m trying to think about cut aways, but I’m not sure what the best way to do it is. Anyone done a wedding with just one camera? Any tips or suggestions?

birdcat
      Participant

First let me say I am NOT a wedding videographer – I am a serious hobbyist that does video at work occasionally and volunteers doing stuff for NPO’s (quite a few lately).

I have done one wedding for a friend who wasn’t going to have video if I didn’t do it and while I shot it with one camera, I was able to get tapes from another guest (I didn’t use them however). It came out fine but I spent about 8 hours with the B&G (mostly the bride) that day shadowing them as they prepared, then another 6 or so at the ceremony and reception plus another couple of hours doing a post wedding interview a couple of months later. All told, I had about eight hours of videotape which I edited down to about 1.75 hours of final product (about 1.5 hours of my video plus photos and other stuff for the remainder).

I also did my own wedding (had two friends with our camcorders plus one on a tripod for the ceremony). It’s like the cobbler’s children, however, and I am not done cutting that 1.5 years out.

Ok – To my point – Is the one camera shoot possible? – Yes – Would it have been better with two or more cameras? – Definitely!