Once again: Total beginner buying a camcorder, which one?

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Cameras and Camcorders Other Camcorders Once again: Total beginner buying a camcorder, which one?

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      Participant

I don’t know anything about camcorders, though I know to use one decently. I’m not a point-and-shoot user since I’ve been photographing for years. Until this moment I’ve always just let the video guys do what they want, I’ll do what I know best, but times change. The need for good quality camcorder for documentary-like use has arised.

The camera would be used at concerts and all kinds of events mostly, so excellent low-light performance is crucial. Sound is almost as important. It doesn’t have to be no handycam neither a DVD since I’ve used to (and want to) edit my stuff, still RAW teaches some patience πŸ™‚

Price range is maxed to 3.000 EUR (little over 3600 USD?) but preferably around 3000 USD or under.

I was thinking about the FX1 or XL2 but since I don’t know anything about the matter, would you guys be so nice and point me to the right direction?

Participant