Old Philips camera shuts down by itself

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Old philips camera shutting down

Hello!

I got my hands on a old camera – Philips VKR6853, and I decided to learn how to use it. I have never used it before. And I can not understand what is the problem with it, because it keeps shutting down, when the tape is in. It uses VHS-C tapes, if that makes any difference. So this is what it does:

1) I enter the tape and turn it on
      2) It makes some sounds, like moving the tape
      3) It shuts down

This happens both on battery and from AC adapter, so i doubt it is power problem.
      Curious, as I am, I also removed the cassette department cover, to see what is happening, and if I can see the problem. So now the “makes some sounds” means some casters drag the tape around this reader/recorder thingy, pause for quarter a second and return to their original positions, at which point the camera shuts down.

Does anyone have idea how serious the problem is, and is this something I might be able to fix myself?

Inactive

I suppose I could get a smaller used camera with reasonable quality with that price, but there are some features, that are hard to come by on smaller cameras. For example, the possibility to add external mic.

I was kind of hoping, if anyone know, if this could be a problem of something specific. if not, it will probably cost more, to find out the problem, than the camera is worth.

Participant

Many consumer level cameras have a mini jack for an external microphone (I use a Sony HDR-SR11 which does along with a headphone jack as well plus a number of useful goodies).

If you decide you want balanced XLR input, you can always get a Beachtek converter later on.

And Derek is very right – It will cost you $$$$$ just to diagnose the problem, plus it’s still VHS-C (20 minute tapes, analog recording, etc…) You’re much better off getting a $500 newer consumer model.

Inactive