Oh no…another newbie!

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

This is a great board you guys have going here. I’ve been hanging around for a few days, reading posts and learning. I am especially impressed with the level of professionalism in not only your work (I’ve checked out many of your samples) but also your willingness to help the less experienced. Thank you from one of them!

I am new to video editing obviously and would like to be able to produce some family stuff that won’t have the in-laws running for the door when the idea of watching comes up. I don’t have anything hi-tech…just a free copy of VideoStudio 8 that came with a firewire cable & video card I bought off ebay. All told I think the 3 were $5! Strangely enough, it works! I’ve played around a bit with it and even put together a short video with footage from my son’s hockey season…I threw some cool music and slo-mo stuff in it and even the wife was impressed…a feat not easily accomplished! (My son too thought is was the coolest thing he’s ever seen, of course he’s only 7.)

Anyway, I just purchased a book online called "The Little Digital Video Handbook." The reviews claim it is a great starter book for what I hope to do with all our endless footage of family video. BUT, my question to all of you is this: What advice can YOU give me to help ensure I put together videos that 1.) Bring tears to eyes, 2.) Keep people awake, and 3.) don’t make family/friends cringe at the mention of watching one.

Finally, I have one last light-hearted question of all you pros who do weddings. If you’ve been in the business for any length of time, you must have been witness to some unexpected wedding excitement or two…you know, the ones where the drunken brothers brawl, cat fights, etc. X-D How ’bout sharing some of your best stories?

Thanks in advance for your help and continued success with your ventures.

coachgrd

Inactive