nightshot during the day

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

what should I modify on my Sony HDR-SR12 in order to use the nightshot feature during the day without worrying about overexposure?

thanks a lot

Hi liveho,

I am not familiar with that camera, but I can’t understand why you would want to use the nightshot feature during the day.

Inactive

Hmm, not really a Sony guy so I haven’t used Night Shot before. But I’m pretty sure it uses ‘invisible’ infared light and then the sensor picks it up.

So since it uses the infared light to make an image, will it not really matter how much real light there is?

I don’t really know since I have never used it before.

If not maybe trying using a ND filter, closing up the aperture, or increasing the shutter speed.

I feel like an idiot now.

Cheers,

The Sony ‘nightshot’ uses ‘ghetto’ infra-red in that it cuts down on the color signal from the chip. I wouldn’t recommend using it for a day shoot. Are you trying to alter the recorded colors to get a ‘Matrix-green’ look or are you trying to simulate night? If you’re trying for the Matrix look spare your poor camera and do a color correction in your NLE software. If you’re trying for night, use an ND filter (ND4 if your camera has it) or get some window tint to put in front of your lens. Don’t make it too dark, because it will make it tough to ‘tweak’ the look in post.

Participant

” The Sony ‘nightshot’ uses ‘ghetto’ infra-red in that it cuts down on the color signal from the chip. I wouldn’t recommend using it for a day shoot. Are you trying to alter the recorded colors to get a ‘Matrix-green’ look or are you trying to simulate night? If you’re trying for the Matrix look spare your poor camera and do a color correction in your NLE software. If you’re trying for night, use an ND filter (ND4 if your camera has it) or get some window tint to put in front of your lens. Don’t make it too dark, because it will make it tough to ‘tweak’ the look in post.”