night club recording, sounds like crap- HELP

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Sound night club recording, sounds like crap- HELP

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

im just getting into filming and i have been doing alot of filming of live preformances in night clubs. it is so loud when the music is playing there is alot of distortion on the recording. i can barley understand what is being said by the artist. is there any way i can muffle the sound or hook up directly to the dj to make it sound better. any advice would be appretiated. thank you.

MSL,

You have to work in tandem with an audio feed from the house mixing board and a direct feed into your camera/portable recording devices. That meaning on a 1 camera shoot, you have to decide if your doing a static shoot (camera stays in one place) to link one channel of audio from the mixing board to your cam and another to one of the house speakers. If you’re going to be moving around, then you’ll need a portable recording device or a small camera you can connect a mic to and mic one of the house speakers.

Keep in mind without a small field mixer of your own, you’ll be at the mercy of whoever is mixing the sound and they won’t have ‘clean audio for video’ in mind. Also, any audio you get from a portable recorder you mic the house speakers with will also be ‘hot’ if you don’t have any way to set the audio levels in the unit. Really hot audio is a nightmare to try and fix in post and most times you can’t. Zoom and others make affordable portable recorders with built-in levels controls. You might want to take a look at those.

Composite1’s answer is the best way to go, but if you can’t do that for some reason, try recording audio separately with a digital audio recorder placed in the back of the building, away from the direct sound source and away from talking people.

Participant

you can also always turn down the gain when recording.

Participant