Newbie with questions

Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hi guys. My name is Shawn and I’m a graphic designer in the Tampa bay area. I’m 27 and really would like to get into video production mainly editing and special efx. I took video classes while in school but it’s been a while since I have done a project. I recently went on an 8 day cruise in which I filmed alot and I’m hoping to put together a DVD. I really want to know is it to late to try to break into video and if not how should get started?

Thanks in advance.

Participant

It’s definitely not too late, although I don’t know where to point you to get you going in right direction. If you want to be an editor, make sure you realize that editors do everything these days. The cut the video, fix sound, create graphics, color grading, etc. It’s a lot to learn, but once you learn it you become a valuable asset.

If you already have a relatively new Mac, I’d suggest getting the Final Cut Studio bundle. Some say it’s expensive, but when you look at what you get and how well it works, it’s worth it. At least I think so. It comes with everything. Final Cut, Soundtrack for editing sound, Color for color grading, Motion for creating graphics, DVD Studio Pro for burning DVDs obviously, and a few other things.

I’d suggest learning the programs, do some experimenting with them, and when you feel comfortable start doing some freelance work for cheap to try gain experience.

Participant

Hey! I think I got in late and I got in when I was 17. I got beat at a film festival by a guy who made his first movie at age 8. I’m getting into graphics/VFX/motion graphics now and knowthe tiniest bit of everything.