Newbie question – capturing video to AVI – first post

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Video and Film Discussion Newbie question – capturing video to AVI – first post

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Sorry if I’m in the wrong forum here.

I’m a newbie trying to ultimately burn a DVD I can watch on my player.

Equipment:

GL2 – just got it…still learning.

Dell Dimension P.C. with firewire port, Windows XP

Software. Adobe Premier Elements 3.0 – haven’t worked with it yet.

Via my firewire port, I can capture video from my GL2 to windows movie maker. All data ends up in .wmv format.

I understand that to burn a DVD that can be played in a standard player, I have to capture in AVI format and then burn to DVD.

What do I do next?

Do I need separate software to capture in AVI? I don’t think I need a separate card as my Dell P.C. does have a firewire port and will capture to Windows Movie Maker.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

——————————————————————————–

Inactive

westernminnguy,
      Welcome to video making. I think you’re gonna have fun! The Canon GL2 is a good camcorder, which shoud serve you well. To create a DVD playable on regualr DVD players, you will need DVD authoring software. ( :'( I know, I know…. more software to buy.) Some editing software comes packaged with DVD authoring software, but I suspect that is not the case with Adobe Premier Elements. But Adobe Premier Elements should allow you to capture to AVI files. You then edit with AVI files. After that, you render the final edited version of your movie to either an AVI file or an MPEG2 file. (If you render to MPEG2, you’ll probably also need to render the soundtrack separately as a WAVE file, but the software instructions should tell you.)