Newbie question about SD vs HD camera

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hello,

I’ve never done any video before and I want to document a trip I’m going on and also make it like a documentary where I interview people at the event I’m attending. My hope is that I can get the video played the following year at their amateur film festival. My questionsare do I have to shoot in HD to be current? Do I need a prosumer camera to acheive my goal or can Iuse something like a consumer camcorder?This may be a one time project so I’m not terribly worried about getting a camera that will bring me to professional level in the future. Having said that obviously I won’t be investing a lot of money in computer/editing hardware. I think my main concerns with this project will be low light situations, sound quality, and my own level of inexperience. Any suggestions for camera/other equipment that would suit this type of project with a complete newbie?

Thanks,

~LAM

Participant

“My questionsare do I have to shoot in HD to be current?”

Nope. HD will never be mandatory for consumers. It will be much like color TV. Consumers today can still use a back and white TV if they choose to do so.

No one will takes “points” away from you at your film festival just because it’s SD instead of HD either. Storytelling is about the story, not the technology used to tell the story.

“Do I need a prosumer camera to acheive my goal or can Iuse something like a consumer camcorder?”

I suppose you could get away with a consumer camera. The benefits of a prosumer camera would be mic inputs (so you can record audio with a better mic rather than the on-camera mic), and image control. Consumer cameras tend to “average” the exposure/focus, which may result in slightly less-than-desireable results. Since this is a one-time project, I don’t think you NEED a prosumer camera. Just have fun making your prject with a consumer level camera.

Inactive