Newbie looking for company start up advise

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Open Forum Newbie looking for company start up advise

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi All,

I am new to this forum and have been reading through a lot of the posts on here and have learned a lot.Throughmy question is that I am trying to start my own productioncompanyand am looking for a name for the company. I amtryingto make sure that the name is not copyrighted. So where would I go for that? Also looking for any advise that anyone can offer about starting up a business. I have a few years of experience just doing videos on the side but am looking to getting paid and getting more clients.

Participant

Where are you located?

Here in Florida, you can research company names online (state web site) and register your company name as a fictitious name (DBA – Doing Business As) which will get you the paperwork needed to open a business checking account under that name. You can the go to the IRS website and file for a EIN (Employer Identification Number) which you can associate with the company which is what you should use to pay your payroll & estimated taxes with.

As for my real advice – Get an accountant, or better yet an attorney, who specializes in setting up businesses.

Participant

I am located in Cleveland, Ohio

Luis Maymi LopezLuis Maymi Lopez
      Participant