Newbie Intro and Q’s please……

• This topic has 6 replies, 1 voice, and was last updated 10 years ago by AvatarAnonymous.
Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Good day to each of you.

I am new at video editing, finally picked up a subscription to VM and then found this forum. WONDERFUL. (Finally a civil on-line community, it’s too rare)

While retired very early due to a disability, I’ve been a film (still) Photographer for a number of years. Never gone digital execpt for quick snaps etc. now for specific reasons, I’m moving to Multi-media, i.e., Still Photographs (Scanned negatives), HD Video via a JVC-10U, 8MM film video processed on transfered onto DVD, Voice-over and Background tracks, i.e., Audio B roll. I sincerely believe that Multimedia is the way to go for any photographer with something to present i.e., story, documentary etc, is a large emerging technology.

I now have a new iMac 27″, 3.0Ghz w/1TB internal HD, 2TB external Drive and several 500GB external drives.

I’m very excited about this passion and excited to have found this just awesome community Thanks to VideoMaker.

So, my iMac has just 4Gig of RAM expandable to 16GB. I’ve getting the vibe from reading this forum that my next step would be to try to upgrade RAM???

Keeping in mind that I’ve purchased FCP Studio 2 a bit ago, a wonderful USB condenser Mike system.

I’m also learning via web tutorials and plan on buying the VM tutorials if you don’t think they are above my head?

One more please, when I can afford it I’ll get an external TV but I would like a jog wheel to help. I have MS and less hand and arm work is really a relief for me. So, do I wait and save for a Euphonix Transport or is there something else for me that would be worth it?

Thank you so much.

Tom

http://www.thephotofather.com