Newbie – Filming a workout video – need advice

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Video and Film Discussion Newbie – Filming a workout video – need advice

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Good day all,

I am going to be filming a couple of training videos this year. I am a well known bodybuilder (work at Chase Bank for a living). I am brand new to this.

I have been trying to get educated the last 2 months on what camera and what sw would be good. I was thinking about the Sony HDR-SR1 camcorder, and the Adobe Premier 3.0 SW.

What do you all think?

I want to be able to have awesome special effects, freeze frames, ability to go black and white, slow motion, and I will be overlaying alot of music.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,
      John Meadows

Inactive

Thank you very much for taking the time to respond to my post..much appreciated.
      I have been looking around locally, albeit not real hard, and I will continue to do so. The footage I am capturing will occur over a course of 16 so weeks, so I am thinking that I might have to do alot of the vidoe myself (i.e have someone film me).
      What is the feasability of me capturing the footage, and sending to someone such as yourself, with ideas on the end goal, and having you put it together..editing, music, packaging,etc.? Does that type of arrangement occur very often?

Regards,
      John

Inactive

Professionally, I do training and event videos each day of the week. If you like, I’d be happy to help and even post or produce with /for you

Here’s the gear I’d use
      2-4 cameras for each "action" sequence (like a workout) – ideally each camera would be operated, and there’d be a director with switcher selecting shots to 1 recorder (and each cam would record independently)

Single camera shotos when needed

talent wearing wireless mics, with audio person monitoring / mixing if there’s more than 1