Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

this is a great forum, full of good information and apparently well behaved people. not like most forums at all.

i am studying up on digital video production as i recently made some small book repair videos for my blog. and they accidently became promotions for my book. (now i have to revise the damn thing!) this was the 1st one i made
      and the second one i know they kinda suck, but i just did them for youtube fun. and to attract some hits.

i bought one of those DV 182 3.1 MP Digital Video Camcorder Camera for 45 bucks off ebay and Pinnacle’s studio 10SE.
      Cheap equipment i know, so i didn’t expect them to come out perfect .

but now i am addicted. my readers from the book sites are now asking me to produce a dvd of repair videos to accompany my next edition.
      who am i to say no? {cha ching}

After a lot of research I ordered a JVC GZ-MG20U EVERIO which is the best camcorder i could afford that would give me a decent raw image.
      and i prefer using SD cards in all my toys.
      I think I will be still be okay with Pinnacle’s studio 10se, and i am getting a dvd burner installed.

If i have missed anything i’d appreciate a heads up.
      i good with storyboarding and scripting, and i have discovered that i ADORE editing. I haven’t read a video or film textbook in 20 years.
      perhaps someone can recommend a reference book?

thank you in advance for any advice.

molly

Inactive

[quote="compusolver"]You say you researched the JVC GZ-MG20U EVERIO, but with just a few Googling clicks, I see that it is noted for poor image quality and produces files that cannot be properly edited (MPEG-2 VOB )

MPEG-2 is a compressed file type. When you try to edit and recompress, the image quality suffers dramatically. You might (and I stress "might") be ok for 320×240 web video, but definitely not video DVDs.

By the way, I don’t think Studio 10 will even import MPEG-2 (at least, earlier versions wouldn’t).