New To video making

Viewing 25 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I’m new to making videos. I took a class a know some very basic stuff about shooting and editing. I worked with the programs Final Cut Pro and Soundtrack Pro. I’d like to buy my own set of videomaking equipment. All I know is that you need a Deck, a Camera, and a Computer with the right programs. If anyone has any suggestions on what kind of Camera/Deck/Computer thats good for beginners to start making movies please let me know.

Participant

I wouldn’t know about a deck, but I started with a PC running Windows XP and an Aiptek Media Recorder (video camera and audio recorder in one). The Editing software I used was Windows Movie Maker.

Then, I moved to a Mac with Final Cut Pro anda Canon XH-A1 camera for college projects.

What your askingthough, is a very subjective question. It’s all up to you and what you want. I’d suggest researchingand “window” shopping around, looking at what there is.Some people like one thing, and others swear by something else.

Inactive

First of all, video decks are unnecessary for the majority of editing applications. It has been replaced by the DVD, which is generally part of the computer. Everything else depends on what you’re hoping to do and how much you’re willing to spend to do it.

Let’s start with the camcorder. What are you going to be videotaping? Kids up a tree, relatives on stage, the next independent smash hit, a documentary on turn signals, whatever you are shooting is going to determine the features you will need. Tape, DVD, flash memory or hard drive are all good choices for recording video. Which is best for you? How are we going to know? And the decision trees go on & on, DV or HDV, one chip or three chip, etc.