New to the Freelance Business. Advice, help, comments, all appreciated!

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Videomaker Tips and Suggestions New to the Freelance Business. Advice, help, comments, all appreciated!

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hey guys, I’m new to the whole freelance business. I am 20 years old, going to be a sophomore at Salisbury University in Maryland and I have a few questions that I’m hoping you more experienced business savvy folk would know.

I am experienced with a wide variety of programs, including the adobe suite (premiere, photoshop, after effects) I also am beginning to become very proficient with Final Cut Studio (Final Cut X holds 50/50 approval in my opinion) I also have good tech skills when it comes to HTML, web design, and computer repair.

Enough about me and unto the questions.

I recently completed a video for the university (http://vimeo.com/25534229) if you want to check it out and get a feel for what I can do or need to work on. I also have 3 other videos in production. 2 more for the university and another for a Physical Therapist who is making training videos.

My question is how to I gage pricing? where do I start? I charged the university $1000 for the 7 min vid, I way undercut myself. I want to charge a competitive rate but under charge a little due to my lack of “accredited” experience. what do I do here?

Should I open up my own business and apply for a fictitious name? I want to ride of taxes and save some bucks! I have the name and I also own my own equipment. Sony FX-7 and a T2I canon. I have 2 editing computers one a PC tower the other a MacPro laptop. I have all the tools but am unsure if I should wait?