New to DVD production needs input, software suggestions

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Editing New to DVD production needs input, software suggestions

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I’m new to DVD authoring, although I have been doing digital (and analog) audio and video editing for personal and commercial use for a while.

I need some input on what software to consider for putting my video projects on DVD with a reasonable degree of speed.

I did a 70 minute video with Ulead VideoStudio 8 (demo) and all went well editing, effects and setting up the DVD chapters – then I got to the last step… burning the DVD files. It took over 14 hours for it to encode, transcode, and/or whatever it does! I have a new 3GB Intel processor, 512 mem (yes, I know I need more), big fast HD and DVD burner.

I did another video of similar size Sonic MyDVD, and another with Nero 6. Both of those went from video file to DVD files much faster, but I an not nuts about either for various reasons.

So- what step or steps are taking so much time? What program or programs can I use to speed up this process? I don’t mind editing with one program and authoring with another (etc), but would appreciate any comments or suggestions.

I am very technical (I program for a living) but just can’t find enough info to tell me what programs and processes I need to go from finished video file to DVD quickly.

Thanks!
      Greg

Inactive