new guy buying an editing station

Viewing 19 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hello everyone.

I am just finishing up my first semester of film school where I am majoring in editing and special effects. I am registering for my fall classes adn I will now be taking my first final cut and animation classes where I’ll be using adobe. This is all online and so I will be buying all of this software, but I have a few questions first…

I have an older G4 that will not cut it for many ofmy classes, so I need to buy a new computer. Any suggestions? I currently run a mac and am comfortable with them, but am fine on PC as well. I would like to get something that is easily upgraded as I will be adding plenty of software and even hardware as I go through school and then out on my ownand I’d like it to last a while. Would it be a bad idea to get a laptop? Also, how many different computers am I able to install programs on? For example, I just bought Final Cut Studio 6, but am afraid of installing it on my G4 for fear that I will not be able to install it on whatever new computer I end up getting.

Participant

>>would like to get something that is easily upgraded as I will be adding plenty of software and even hardware as I go through school and then out on my ownand I’d like it to last a while. Would it be a bad idea to get a laptop?<<

Part of the issue with this is what software do you want to run? Final Cut Pro is MAC only so if you want/need to run it you have to buy one. Additionally, there are some programs that are PC only (like most pro 3d applications), so you may also need a PC. My suggestion is to buy a new intel mac since it will be able to run both the MAC operating system as well as the Windows OS (either natively using boot camp or via other software like parallels and the like).