New Computer Build

Viewing 16 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Now that windows 7 is out I am planning on building a new computer using the Windows 7 64bit OS.

I have Vegas Pro 8 and I will re-install it on the new computer. I was wonderning about any pitfalls I should be aware of moving to a 64bit operating system with Vegas Pro 8?

I am moving from a single core running xp so a big processing leap for me going to a quad core.

Thanks for your help

Participant

I’m no expert with Vegas Pro 8 (haven’t even used it), but I am almost certain that upgrading a 64-bit quad-core system will definitely give you a smoother experience with editing. Now about trying to re-install Sony Vegas on your new system, I’d definitely give it a shot.

Anyway, can you tell me about your experience with Windows 7. With Windows Vista, you needed a processor with at least the capabilities of a quad-core to get anything decent. An operating system with a lot of features, but cheap in design, as far as speed and processing goes. At this time (around 2007), many had stood their ground with their good-working Windows XP system. The richer people pulled the plug on Microsoft altogether by switching to a Mac. Has this changed for Windows 7, or have they ignored the vast majority of complaints and bug reports from its predecessor?

Participant

I am looking forward to trying it. My friend who is in the defense industry said their developers who were doing testing with the beta releases thought that it was very solid.

My son just upgraded to 7on his laptop and said the system is running much faster and the cooling fan is not running as much as before.

It will probably bee a couple of weeks before I order the parts for the build(As soon as I get approval from the CFO my wife)and I am just trying to understand any problems i may run into going to the 64 bit OS.