new business questions

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I’m just starting out, and the great advice in these forums has been extremely helpful. I’ve got some experience under my belt doing a couple weddings, but now that I want to get serious with it I was hoping some of you could share your experiences. Any suggestions on things I should do to formalize my business? Should I set up a LLC? How about insurance – what do I need and what are some places for decent rates? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Participant

Well as for the specific things you asked, an LLC would make you and your company seperate entities. So, if your business got sued, you would not be personally liable. There are, however, additional expenses and things you need to do to set it up. If you are the sole owner of the company and have no “employees” you can set it up as a sole proprietorship which means you are the business. When you do taxes, any business income is listed the same as your personal income and you can still write off equipment and other related expenses. If you have employees or a partner, you will need to set up an LLC (or LLP) or another type of corporation (LLCs are the cheapest). Or just if you want the security of being separate from your company. Either way, you can operate under a business name by registering that name with the state department of revenue (in my state it costs $8 and takes about 2 mins.) That way you legally own that name. If you plan to just use your name or “‘yourname’ videography”, in most states (maybe all) you don’t need to register the name since it is already yours.

Make sure you keep good records and get a tax/accounting person if you do not know the laws. Also, make sure your taxes are in order and that you claim all your income. Being “self-employed” can be a red flag for a tax audit.