New and Clueless!

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hey guys, I am brand new to filming (4 months deep) with no schooling or prior knowledge of the industry. That said, I have been making motocross edits for my friends who race, and posting them on vimeo. I get quite a bit a praise with them and with the embedding of the video I get anywhere 3-5k+ views a week. The 2 biggest motocross media sites that focus on photos and videos have contacted me with job offers…once of them wants to hire me as an employee, and the other wants to just pay me per edit and be able to put their name on my videos. And that’s what I don’t have a clue about…charging. What would I charge a website to post my videos that I make for them? Is $50 just ridiculously low? Is $1,000 way to high?

My edits are usually 3-4 minutes, sometimes 6ish. I generally shoot for 3-5 hours at the track then edit time is 2-3 hours…(not including rendering time)

my vimeo page is: vimeo.com/sixfortyone

Big thanks for any feedback!

\

$50 to $75 per hour, shooting and editing, uploading included. Actually, if it was me and I was doing “work for hire” rather than owning the footage and productions, I would charge between $100 and $200 per hour.

Participant

It comes down to how you value your time…

I am with EarlC – asking $100-$200 per hour is not unreasonable. If they baulk at your price of $100 – $200 an hour you have a position to negotiate from (a starting point to work down from) that will still allow for reasonable compensation for your efforts. If you start low in the $50-$75 (or lower range) you do two things – 1. You may send a message that devalues your work if they are paying higher rates to others for similar work; and, 2. You back yourself into a corner if you need to negotiate your price – there is nowhere to go but down and at $50 an hour that means you could end up at a point that doesn’t make good business sense.