Need Tripod for HVR HD1000u

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Newbie here needs some advice. I just purchased the HVR HD1000u and am looking to spend in the 150-200 dollar range for a tripod. I see a fluid head is the way to go, but other than that, I need some pro advice. Any suggestions would be very appreciated. Second question – Can I get a tripod with a controller at that price range and is it really necessary? Thanks in advance for any input.

Hi mvaz, I’m a relative newbie myself and have recently purchased the Manfrotto 525mvb with a Manfrotto 501 hdv head and a 521 controller. I must say that so far I am very happy with all three. I’m now on the lookout for a fold away platform of about a metre square with a 300 to 400 mm rise to give me that extra height necessary when doing crowd scenes/ sporting events or live music gigs so that I’m well clear of peoples heads getting in the way of my footage.

Participant

A good fluid head and tripod for under $200, if you find one please post back here where you found it.

Participant

Nice to see this,,maybe not

I bought a MB 190XB with a 501 fluid head for my camera. This model was suggested on a couple other forums. My camera weighs 5.5 lbs and with other things that might be added to it would be a max of 7.5 lbs total.

After reading some of these posts I fear my legs are too small. It says this setup is for a camera up to 7.5 lbs. I thought it would be ok. Most of the others are saying models with multi legs. The one I now have is single legs only.

My camera is the Pan AG-HVX200A

What do you guys think about this tripod?

Now I am getting nervous

Thanks