Need starter set up on a low budget. Ideas?

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Ok I’m just learning about making my one movies and would really like some help from someone that has been here. I some equipment but admittedly it is mostly cheap not so great stuff.

Here is what I have or will have as soon as it is back from the shop

1 Sony Handycam. This is the one with the CCD recall/lawsuit and they are fixing mine for free. I think it was something like a HV20. It is a slightly older model being a couple of years old but it does have an mic input.

I have a laptop with a p2 pentium at about 560 megahertz, 512 ram and a 10 gig hard drive. All this will be up graded as soon as I can afford it. I’m having the laptop upgraded to edit on when needed and might do some straight to the hard drive recording but that is a way off.

I have a desktop with a gig of ram, 3.2 p4 intel processor with premiere pro 2, photoshop, affer effects, adobe sound booth, and I have other video programs coming as soon as a friend sees what she still has or can get. No this is not pirated software unless someone giving you programs they no longer use is pirating.

I have a few cheap mics that were either given to me or was part of a karaoke machine so you know they are not great. As well as an older Realistic Stereo Mixing Console. I do not know a lot about this and have yet to hook it up but I was told it worked. I was also told it was a peice of crap on another board and would add more trash noise then I would want. This could be true. I have no idea yet.

I have halogen work lights, florescent tube lights, I know how to make homemade reflectors and filters and understand the importance of lighting.