Need Quality Narration Sound

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

<span lang=”EN”>

Hi Guys.

Newbie here but I do have some video knowledge. Audio quality is something I am missing however. I??ve been working with the on board Sony cam mic and a basic logitech mic that plugs in by usb connection.

I??ve solved the actual audio quality problems from video footage with the addition of a Audio tech AT-897 shotgun mic and an xlr adaptor. But I do quite a bit of narration with video as well and I can??t get the same sound quality. I??ve tweaked it with audacity and removed unwanted noise but the voice doesn??t sound the same.

I realize it must be the cheap logitech mic and the connection to the PC. How do I get this to work? Is there an adaptor I can use with the shotgun that plugs into my pc?

Thanks. Great site!

</span>

Sony DCR-VX2100 camera

Inactive

there is a company called presonus that makes the Firebox, it’s a firewire interface with xlr in, my brother uses it with audio recording for bands and podcasting and the quality is very good, and B&H has it for $300. Also you could just record using the mic plugged in to the camera and then just delete the video associated with the audio you import.

hope this helps, if you need some clarity, just let me know.

Inactive

the combination of a good mic whit a good audio editing software should make it. Recording in a controled environement shoulg help too, be aware of the computer noise, neon fuzz, and everything that could introduce noise in your naration.

There is aslo a few effect that you should put into your voice, like a EQ , a low cut for POP and low frequence noise, a good compressor … etctool

I am using pro tools for my narration and its working verry well.

Inactive