Need Just General Advice, Give Your Opinion

Viewing 15 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hello there!

Yes im new here and need just some really helpful advice. So please tell me what you think.

My goal is to shoot music videos. I have friends who do music, so of course Im going to shoot them first. Im just starting out so I bought a Canon HF20, on black friday. I have a HP Pavilion dv5 1002nr and I downloaded Adobe Premium Pro Cs4.

The problem is the format AVCHD will not playback correctly on my computer. I messed with settings and i got it to play maybe 20-30 seconds but still choppy. All the camcorder’s coming out are AVCHD but then it claims you need a super computer to edit it!!?

So what do i do? Do I take the camera back and get a less quality(HF20’s AVCHD is beautiful). Do i upgrade computer? Im just starting out, I dont have 2500 to go spend on a quad core! Or do i try another software? I tried vegas pro 9, still choppy playback.. Please give you advice it would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Mike,

You had this same post listed twice so I got rid of the other one.

All right. If you don’t have at least a dual-core type CPU and a minimum of 4GB of RAM, you’re going to have problems editing AVCHD footage. It’s a highly compressed HD codec intended primarily for use with Blu-Ray technology. As is you may need to get a conversion codec compatible with CS4 and convert it to MPEG2 which will make it much easier to edit with Premiere. For that option, you’ll have to look through the other posts concerning AVCHD to get tips on what converters may work best for you and not cost an arm and a leg.

Participant

Alright, ive done a little looking in this section. I see alot of talk about AVC Upshift, is this a good converter? I was wondering does it take a long to convert these files,(my files are 25 3-5 mins videos). Futhermore, when i Convert them to M2t, will the files be larger?

Inactive