Need help with overall technique

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi:
      I am a newbie to the forum. I have a panasonic dvd camcorder for which I have 30+ clips of our vacation I want to use premier elements for to complie them into a movie. I have been trying things for about 1 month now and have some questions. When I try to edit all 30+ clips into a movie premeier gets very slooooowwww. So I have been trying to break the clips into groups (say all the Florida clips) save them as a mpeg or avi or dvd or….. Then add all say all four group to a movie and burn to a dvd.
      The problem is this requires editing and saving each clip 3 time and the quality of the finished movie is not very good. πŸ˜•

The fottage was captured using the VR format on the panasonic, maybe this was not a good idea πŸ˜•

It is possible to create a project of multiple projects?

I thought avi was a non-lossy format, but it seems that it is. Is there a non-lossy format I could use to save the groups?

Can the codec that premier uses be changed, I also have Nero which produces better quality video, but the editing capabilties are not so good. Perhaps I could use the nero dvd.

Any pointers would be greatly appreceiated.

Participant

I think I’d be able to help you more if I could get the model number of your camera so I can look up it’s specifications.

In the meantime….AVI is a very good format but it is not lossless. microsoft DV AVI (premier’s native format), and other types of AVI’s are compressed and their is always a loss when compressing video. However, the loss is more technical and really should not be visible to the eye. If the quality is so poor that you can easily notice the difference from the original video….something is wrong. This suggests that you are converting the video too many times between different formats.