Need Help – Recording My First Semi-Professional Event

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Specialty Topics Wedding and Event Video Need Help – Recording My First Semi-Professional Event

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Equipment – Panasonic HVX100 and Canon HF-10
      Software: Pinnacle Studio 11 (But I just Picked Up Sony Vegas 9 Ult Pro today)

Up until now I have used Pinnacle Studio 11 to do family DVDs, minor Church events etc. I am a music producer by trade.

I am shooting an dance event this weekend and need so advice from some of you pros:

We will have two cameras shooring this event. One from the balcony that will shoot the entire stage during the entire event, and one on the floor about 20 feet from the stage that will shoot close ups.

Which camera do you suggest I use for each shot? The Canon seems to have better clarity even in SP mode than the Pansonic, yet the Panasonic seems to be warmer if that is an accurate description. Also, the lighting in the Church is terrible.

Also – I havent opened Vegas yet. Will there be a large learning curve from Pinnacle to Vegas? I plan to crack it open tonight and play with it. Pinnacle was pretty simple but it crashes a lot and takes froever to render.

Thanks

Craig

Inactive

Hi Craig,

I suggest you use the Panasonic on the balcony and the Canon downstairs. You will use more close ups than wide angles ( the canon has a clear picture) What do you mean by “warmer”? You may use your new software to light up your video. (I’m not familiar with Vegas, i use final cut) You should start to explore Vegas now to be ready for the week-end. If you feel comfortable, edit your video with it. Check the features to see what you could do special so you could plan your shoothing.

Good luck for your video,

Antoine

Participant