Need Help Please

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hi

I`am new in this forum in need some help about my new PC that i am dealing with a shop around were i live.

By profession i work in the National TV Station – PBS Malta- i do editing, camera work and even audio. I have been working in the station for 23 years and i know my way around. So that`s my profile now for my problem, i need to upgrade my PC but i would like to do some MiniDV editing at home but i am on a low budget.
      This is what i went for

Intel PentiumD 940 Processor
      Dual Core 3.2GHz Processor at 800MHz FSB
      Motherboard – ASUS P5PL2
      4MB Level2 Cache at full CPU speed
      1GB PC4200 533MHz DDR2 Memory, upgradable to 2GB
      ATI X600 HDTV video card
      3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive
      LG 16X DVD-ReWriter Dual Layer SuperMulti Drive
      Enermax Middle Tower Case – Top Quality
      450W Power Supply
      Piniccle Studio Card

I have a 200 G hard disk on my old PC so i will use that.

Can anybody tell me what i have good and bad

Thanks

Inactive

Thanks but i have to come first to the States first, I`ts around midnight here and it`s hot i have my 28btu airconditioner pulse a big fan to ciculate.

So you think that my motherboard and video card are Ok and about my Piniccle card.

Inactive

Well, to be frank, your system’s got my new computer beat, and I think my new computer does a great job. I think you’ll be just fine for virtually anything you come across.

To echo what Hank advised, I upgraded to SATA drives a while back, and it’s worth spending the money and then transferring the files to the new drives. Super fast, super stable, super cool.

Participant