Need help in buying a PC for simple video editing

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Video and Film Discussion Need help in buying a PC for simple video editing

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Good day everyone
      For about a week i have been looking to upgrade or change my PC. I just purchased a Turtle Beach Video PCI advantage card to be able to connect gear to my PC and be able to do some basic home editing.

What i have right now is a 2003 P4 2.4 – 512mb et 256mb ram of memory – 80 gb hard drive (split in 2)- Gforce 4 MX inboard 64mb video card – basic sound card – DVD burner – basic everything else…

When i work on small projects, my videos are not looking very good and the image tend to freeze when a title or some effects comes up. It is worst when thrown on a DVD.

I was offered a good price for my P4 and was looking to buy this PC (so i need someones advise as i am no expert) AMD Dual Core 64 4200+ – 250gb 7200 western Dig Hard drive – 1GB DDR2 memory stick – PCI GForce 256mb video card – 5.1 sound card – Dual layer DVD Burner.

Like i have said, i am no expert so i hope this was enough information. I would be adding my new Turtlebeach pci card into the new PC and am currently using Power Director for editing my home movies.
      I am a French Canadian so my english could be just like my old PC…lol

Thanks for your help and i would really appreciate the advices you could provide me.

Inactive

Yes, french canadian have to learn english. What i meant on my first post is that my english is not perfect. I am still learning…

Thanks for your reply, i know more about the hard drives, and will be looking for a second one when i buy the PC

Inactive

I ordered the PC today and now i am facing one more decision. I was told by the seller that i would be better off buying this video card and that it would be good enough for what i will be doing (basic video editing)

Leadtek Geforce 7300 PCI 256mb