Need Help finding the right camera

• This topic has 9 replies, 1 voice, and was last updated 12 years ago by AvatarAnonymous.
Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I’m somewhat new to the filming side of things and need some advice. I have an opportunity to begin shooting for an outdoor fishing show, 99% bright daylight, outdoors, so I bought a Sony EX1. In the past all the cameras I’ve been around and used as b roll camera’s were tape, mini DV. The show has been shooting on HDV Camera’s and we’ve basically shot everything, then sorted it all out in post.

I’ve pretty much blown my budget on the camera itself, and I’m a bit worried about the capacity cababilities of the EX1, even with the 32 gig SxS card (which is very expensive, would need to buy two, maybe 3) I’m worried I’ll run out of space during a shoot. I know I can dump the footage during the shoot onto a laptop / external drive to clean out the card, BUT, during the heat of the battle durng the shoot, and sometimes small space on the boat, it’s not idea.

SO, I’m wondering if there is another super camera out there that shoots true 1920x1080p HD but not to SxS card or hard drive, but to tape. I’m assuming Mini DV keeps you me in the HDV world?? If so is there a “BEST” camera I should be looking at in the $5k range??? Needs to be managable, somewhat portable ex ex…

Any help???

Thanks-

Inactive

thanks guys

SO, I’m wondering if there is another super camera out there that shoots true 1920x1080p HD but not to SxS card or hard drive, but to tape. I’m assuming Mini DV keeps you me in the HDV world?? If so is there a “BEST” camera I should be looking at in the $5k range??? Needs to be managable, somewhat portable ex ex…

Any help???

Panasonic AG-HVX200A P2HD Camcorder, Sony HVR-Z5U Pro HDV Camcorder and the Sony HVR-Z7U HDV Camcorder are your available options if you are strict about 1080P and tape.