need help – feedback when using microphone extension cord

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Sound need help – feedback when using microphone extension cord

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hi, I’m a non-professional video hobbyist just getting started. I’ve worked on a 30min edu film (miniDV) and now I’m doing my first project on my own: shooting a 3 minute portrait of someone for a reality show application and editing with FCP3.

I wanted to set up sort of a “lavalier” to mic my subject (for a medium shot or wide shot — head-to-toe, maybe 15 or 20 feet from the camera) on the cheap using what i have available, to eliminate the subject having to shout over crashing waves and wind noise. I am having trouble with feedback when I try using an extension cord to increase the distance between subject and camera.

I just got a Pany PV-GS150. it has both headphone and mic jack (1/8″). The cam actually comes with a little wired remote mic that lets you control zoom and record “narration”.

I also have an ancient little stereo mic with a clip that came from an old sony recording cassette tape walkman (long gone). This also works fine to record sound on the cam.

I picked up a 20ft. Stereo headphone extension cord at Radio Shack for five bucks. The plug for the cam’s own remote doesn’t really fit (the connector has 3 rings on it, maybe because of the extra controllers for the cam?). Sony mic connector (two rings) fits nicely into the extension cord, but there is a loud BUZZ or hum in the headphones (and on the recording) when I plug the 20ft extension into the camera.

Should i be using a different kind of cable to mic into this cam? What causes this feedback? Any suggestions on getting rid of that buzz?

Really appreciate it!!

Inactive