Need Help Buying a Computer

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I am an amateur video editor. I mainly do slideshows and home video editing for my children and friends. I’ve been using Pinnacle Studio for several years and recently upgraded to version 10. My old computer just can’t handle it. So… I’m in the process of buying a new machine. Can anyone recommend a good computer to me? What do I need? I’ve been looking at dell.com and feel a bit overwhelmed. I’m thinking about buying a dell because they have the 18 month no interest plan.

I’m thinking about the XPS 600 Multimedia Machine at 2,464 US.

http://www1.us.dell.com/content/products/features.aspx/cto_xpsdt_600?c=us&cs=19&l=en&s=dhs

Is this what I need? Or, should I take a look at something else?

Any feedback will be GREATLY appreciated. I’m definitely not a computer guru!

Thanks! Kim

Inactive

Definitely not a computer guru either, but I recommend a home built PC.
    Look for a minimum of 2 GHz / 512 MB RAM / 120 GB HDD / any VGA. I repeat, minimum.

Inactive

Why home built? Is the one I was looking at not good?

Can you get a better deal with a home built machine?

As I said, I’m definitely no guru when it comes to this.

Thanks!

Inactive

I recently cut some footage on a friends $488 E-machine from Wal-Mart. It wasn’t as smooth as my custom built pc or as fast, but I didn’t expect it to either, but I have to say that for the money, I’d be able to tolerate it and still have fun cutting video.

RAM is cheap these days even for the low latency RAM, I’d actually go with a minimum of 1GB Ram, and a 2ghz or higher processor. I wouldn’t worry much about a high end graphics card unless you plan on doing some heavy CG or animations. You can get a fine all around graphics card for under $200. Hard drives, 160gb system, and a 250gb+ dedicated video storage with a Serial ATA connection and minimum 7200rpm. That should get you started.