Need Camcorder Recommendation

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous
      Inactive

Hello,

I am new to this site as of today and I hope that I have found a good place to learn from some of the vest out there. I have a general question, but first I will explain my situation. I started out as a hobbyist, just taking pictures with my DSLR camera. After a while, people started noticing my work and were impressed, especially with me being so new at it.

I recently was hired for a few birthday parties and for me that was GREAT and the pictures were loved. Well of course word got out, so now I have been asked to take pictures and video for a wedding in September. I am not worried about the pictures, but the video I am.I do not own a camcorder, and I haven’t the slightest clue where to start. I am by no means a professional, but I do not believe in giving people cheap products. I have been researching for weeks now looking for the perfect, yet not most expensive or cheap camcorder.

I have been researching the Canon HF 11, HF 100, HG 20, HG 21 and also the Sony products. I don’t know which formats are best for long filming MiniDV, DVD, Flash or HDD. Should I invest in lighting, microphones etc etc. I know this was rather long for my first post, but I am hoping that enough of you will read this, have been where I am standing, and can share your best practice approach. Remember….

I am a beginner, but I am by no means an amatuer. What I mean by that is, I am VERY Tech Savvy, and electronics are second nature to me, so I am not intimidated by features or manuals. Any suggestions, I would greatly appreaciate. Thank you in advance!

EarlC

There’s a LOT of available information here that has pretty much covered most aspects of your interest. It would be GREAT (for you) if you checked out some of the most recent posts to get a strong idea of what forum participants here have been saying.

NewBirthProductions
      Participant