Need advice on what on camera light to purchase.

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Production Gear Need advice on what on camera light to purchase.

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I have a Sony vx2000 and I need an inexpensive on camera light. I will be using it mainly for weddings so I won’t use it too much, I think…. I am new at this. I am just looking for something to use during the interview, if needed.

Inactive

Good point. I know nothing about on camera lights.

What is the purpose of a cigarette plug adapter?

I have been looking at lights on B&H but I don’t really know what to look for. I found a bescor on there that is 50watts for $100.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=2026&A=details&Q=&sku=304499&is=REG&addedTroughType=categoryNavigation

Is that similar to what you use?

Participant

Did anybody use SONY double decker lights http://www.sonystyle.com/is-bin/INTERSHOP.enfinity/eCS/Store/en/-/USD/SY_DisplayProductInformation-Start?ProductSKU=HVL20DW2&Dept=cameras&CategoryName=acc_DIAccessories_DILights?

Looks like a good idea, and the price is right.

Unsolicited Critics of Wedding Videos on YouTube.com

Participant

Hi Hanks,

Yes, I do write critiques. I am glad you agree with my opinion. The reason behind critiques was not to discourage video enthusiasts, but to inspire them to get better results. I have been in the news and wedding business for last 15 years, and I always try my best. Although I have apparently improved since I started, I am always looking forward to absorb new ideas to further improve my skills.

Unsolicited Critique of the Wedding Videos on YouTube.com

Inactive

I like the HVL-20DW2 because it uses an identical battery to the one the camera uses (NPF – 970). So when I buy batteries for the light, I have back up batteries for the camera when I am not using the light.