Need Advice: Fortune 1000 company wants to buy rights

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Video and Film Discussion Need Advice: Fortune 1000 company wants to buy rights

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hi all,

I’m new to this forum and hoping you can point me in the right direction. Some background on me,I am not a professional videographer, but I do have a degree in video production and in a former life (before marriage and kids) I did earn some some “rainy day” money producing promotional videos for small, local companies and non-profits who hired me directly. These were on-the-side jobs I did while slaving away at a boring 9-5 kind of job (you know, the kind with health benefits).

Recently I produced a a 5min video as a favor for my wife about a reading program she is implementing as a pilot program in a school district. It has an informational/promotional feel to it, and features narration, graphics, production music, and interviews with several students and faculty. I shot it over two days, and probably put in about 10-15 hours of post-production.

The company that produces the materials for the reading program (a Fortune 1000 Educational Publishing company) has approached me and expressed interest in buying the video / the rights to the video.

This has kinda caught me off guard, and I am looking for advice as to how to proceed. Specifically:

• Legal issues that I should be aware of
      • Types of things a lawyer could / should assist with
      • Best course of action: Sell the video outright / Sell rights / License it (especially considering that my wife would like to continue using it in presentations she makes to teachers and the school board, and I would like to have it in my portfolio)
      • How to arrive at a reasonable dollar figure for video/rights/licensing

Thanks in advance for any insight offered!

Participant

http://www.videomaker.com/article/14942/

Participant