MUSIC:: MAKE YOUR OWN OR USE CD’S

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I was wondering how you guys feel about music in your own project. Do you use copyrighted artists and popular music? Or are you obligated to make your own original music?

Or what about laying in a track of the popular artist’s song if it was already used by the DJ at the event? Is that ok?

Are there laws that state that it is illegal to add a song from the radio to your videography?

**** note, this post and all others that follow are NOT intended to be legal advice. they are simply ideas for consideration and do NOT imply that they are known laws, etc.

Participant

Great question! But be warned, you are opening a can of worms.

Participant

I’m not a lawyer and do not play one on TV – However there is a slough of licensing requirements that prohibits you from using copyrighted music without the appropriate license. There is sync, reproduction, distribution, performance, and many other licenses that would need to be paid. Someone (another board, another post) once figured it would cost around $50,000 to secure the proper licensing to use a popular piece of music in one of your works.

In reality, many folks fly in the face of these laws – And in fact, most (really) will get away with it without penalty. There are those who do get caught and they do get hefty fines (some wind up in bankruptcy and out of business) – I suggest you read the Digital Millenium Copyright Act.

There are many good ways around all this –

1) Go to Australia – They have laws that for $600 per year, you can legally purchase a CD and use the music in a derivative work (like a video production).

2) Write your own music and have it recorded – Not cheap and requires some talent (I’ve done this from $250-$500 per song) – You could have music composed and recorded for you but that costs even more.