Music copyright issue (promo for DJ)

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hi

I’m filming a short movie to promote a DJ. This will be at a wedding reception – so shots of him at the console, people dancing, general party atmosphere etc. Not sure how I stand with copyright as the core of his service is to play the songs of various well known recording artists.

Participant

I am not a lawyer (nor do I play one on TV) however, as I understand it, as long as the music captured on video is incidental (not the crux of the video) and the DJ has used appropriate sources (legit ones have special rights assigned music sources) then you are covered – Just don’t go and use a separate copy of the music to include in your video – Just capture the DJ and the incidental sound with him.

Dwyerfen,

‘Cat’s suggestion is a good one. On the other hand, you’ll be a lot safer if you capture him doing his thing and then using a music track from music he either; has bought the rights to use, composed and performed himself or a composition created with royalty-free music that you or he owns from a legit purchase. To mirror ‘Cat’s warning, don’t just throw a music track over your video. Especially if you or he does not have the rights to it! Also, during your video focus primarily on the DJ and keep the faces of individuals at events he’s done to a minimum (i.e. don’t just hang on one person too long.)

Inactive

Dwyerfen,