Music at public venue

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

If I’m making a video for a Public Community Center and they have a music license to play background music at their facility, do I have the right to put licensed popular music on the video I create for them?

Just Curious,

Ben

Participant

The short answer is “No.” You will need sync rights as well. See other threads in this forum for details, but no license to perform or play music at a location gives you the right to use that music in a video. It doesn’t matter if it’s only in the background; if the music is audible, you need a license.

Participant

I believe if you have music playing in the background and it is not an integral part of the video (as in loud volume or making cuts to it – like when a wedding videographer tapes the bride’s various dances) then you are safe to have it as part of the background audio.

I am not a lawyer but suggest you check with one if you need to be sure.

Participant

BirdCat, you make a good point. Many documentarians and civil libertarians agree that “fair use” should cover music recorded incidentally while shooting on location. I myself would agree that this is the way it should be. Alas, the recording industry disagrees — and they have deep pockets, and there’s no way to know for sure how the axe will fall until your neck is already on the chopping block. If you want to take a stand you might win, but it’ll be you vs. RIAA’s sixteen law firms, and their strategy is often to wear you down until you have to settle.

Lawyers can’t go wrong by advising their clients not to do something (in this case, not to use music without the appropriate license). Make sure that you ask a lawyer who specializes in entertainment law, as the issues are complicated.

Inactive