Multicam question

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      Participant

Hi, guys

I’m a newbie here and work for a video making software company.We are dedicated on the development of a software which can help us direct use computer to capture live video synchronously from multi-angle through multi-camera. We think this may save time in synchronizing videos and save some storage such as memory cards or dedacated hard drives. What do you feel about it? Do you think it is useful or interesting? If so, how much would you pay for it? And what other functions should be added in your opinion? Come on, I need your advice.

Inactive

Since it looks like English isn’t your first language (your home page ends with .it, Italy?), I’m not quite sure what you mean by “. . . direct use computer to capture live videos synchronously from multi-angle through multi-camera . . . may save time in synchronizing videos . . .” So let me describe how I utilize my resources at a shoot.

The vast majority of my productions use three camcorders which I synch & edit together, adding B-roll video along with titles & graphics to complete the program. To do this, I tape the interviews or performance on every camcorder. I also record each mic on its own audio channel for mixing in post. On various occasions, I have recorded one of the camcorders direct to my laptop. Now as I understand it, your company is going to create some sort of interface that connects my computer’s single IEEE 1394 port to all three camcorders. Obviously I’d have to purchase at least two very long Firewire cables so I could connect all three cables into your device connected to my computer. I’m assuming you all know how to use the four pin Firewire port to simultaneously record three DV25 signals to a hard drive connected to my laptop. Then I can import AVI2 files into my NLE to edit. And they synch easily since they all start at the same instant.